What I Miss in Blogging

How blogging word has changed

Vinitha Dileep
2 min readFeb 18, 2021

I have been blogging for more than seven years now. I don’t know how many posts I’ve published so far. I don’t keep track of them. There are more of those scribbles living in my notebooks.

Is it ever possible to keep track of all that a person writes? All those thoughts that flash and vanish; the traces of which might appear on a piece of paper. How can you count them!

In my writing journey, I’ve met quite many beautiful souls. In the beginning, it felt unusual — to connect with someone somewhere just like that. All that was there to go on was the words they shared. As I stayed on my path and kept moving forward the number of connections kept increasing.

That was the time when we didn’t just whoosh past with a friendly glance. We made sure to stop and chat, we gave each other ideas and suggestions, we helped each other with feedback, and showered encouragement to each other. We were there for each other. We knew one another. We were a community. We definitely didn’t whoosh past with just a glance.

The blogging world has changed tremendously since then. It’s all about monetization and niche and audience retention now. Sharing is caring because sharing generates more traffic. It changed. It changed so much that many familiar faces are not here anymore.

--

--

Vinitha Dileep

A lover of words, writer, blogger, dreamer, loves stringing words together & adoringly calls them poems. Connect at vinitha.dileep@gmail.com